Student Leadership Awards for 2013-14

At this year's annual Student Leadership Awards Banquet, remarkable people and organizations were recognized for their meaningful contributions.  Here's the list.

2013-14 Student Leadership Awards Recipients


Outstanding Leadership Award: Charlie Hughes
Organization with the Most Positive Influence on Campus: Bairnwick Women’s Center
Organization with the Most Creative Program Promotion: Bairnwick Women’s Center
Best Educational Program Presented by a Student Organization: “I Love the Female Orgasm” by the Bairnwick Women’s Center
Best Residence Hall Program: Guitar Hero night by Benedict Hall
Best Initiative to Raise Cross-Cultural Awareness on Campus: African American Alliance with program like “Let’s Talk About Race.”
Best Campus Wide Social Event: Slam Dunk BBQ by Cornerstone
Up & Coming Club of the Year: The Ask-Not Campaign
Most Outstanding Behind-the-Scenes Contributor: Eric Leibrandt
Environmental Leadership Award: Elizabeth Sega and Sabol Rodgers
Initiative Award: Caitlin-Jean Juricic
Sewanee Spirit Award: Ben Almassi
James Phillip Cole Award: Kathleen Kelso
Advisor of the Year Award: Lauryl Tucker


Most Improved Grades: Alpha Tau Omega and Alpha Tau Zeta
Award for Academic Excellence: Delta Tau Delta abd Alpha Delta Tau
Best Community Service Project: Theta Pi Turkey Trot and Phi Sigma Theta Breast Cancer Awareness Month
Outstanding Overall Community Involvement Award: Gamma Sigma Phi and Kappa Delta
Outstanding University Alumni Advisor Award: Melissa Webb of Kappa Delta and Andrew Moser of Chi Psi
Outstanding Alumni Advisor Awards: Joe Delozier of SAE; Jimmy Wilson of Chi Psi; Rachel Watson of Kappa Omega; Tappan Vickery of Theta Kappa Phi
Sorority President of the Year: Sarah Brown of Alpha Delta Theta and Emily Blau of Theta Kappa Phi
Fraternity President of the Year:  Saer Brown of Sigma Alpha Epsilon and Thomas Hall of Fiji
Greek Woman of the Year: Maria Stratienko of Kappa Omega
Greek Man of the Year: Warren Snead of Kappa Alpha Order
Rising Star Award (most improved chapter): Kappa Alpha Order
Dean’s Cup: Sigma Nu and Kappa Delta


Paniz Rezaeerod
Davante Jennings
Taylor Baird
Roshni Walia
Linnea Carver
Catherine Campbell
Charlie Hughes
Michelle Howell
Carolyn Pearigen


Community Builder Award: Caitlin Jean Juricic
Volunteer of the Year Award: Jewlz Davis
Doug Cameron Award: Rachel Denham


Caitlin-Jean Anne Juricic
Mary Katherine McAlister
Gabrielle Nicette Spangenberg
Maria Louise Stratienko


Anna Maryam Alikhani
Benjamin Reza Almassi
Chane Patrick Corp
James Norris Cromarti Eppes
Margaret Elizabeth Hope Faulk
Thomas Bradley Hall
Charles Naddaff Hughes
Caitlin-Jean Anne Juricic
Katherine Elizabeth Kelse Koontz
Brittany Shanielle Macon
Carolyn Grace Pearigen
Nicholas Ross Pusateri
Warren Leslie Snead
Gabrielle Nicette Spangenberg
Roshni Rani Walia
Margaret Gay Weaver

The Clarence Day Service and Algernon Sydney Sullivan Awards are formally announced at Commencement.  

Behold how good and joyful it has been to be the dean to this compelling group of students.

-Eric Hartman